Skip to main content
EU Whistleblower Directory

Original research · 2026 edition

The state of EU whistleblowing software, 2026

What 116 whistleblower reporting platforms actually publish about price, hosting, certification, language coverage, and AI — measured across the whole EU market rather than a vendor shortlist.

Computed · 126 live platforms

Directive (EU) 2019/1937 has been in force across the Union since 2021, and every member state has now transposed it. A market grew to serve the obligation: at the time of writing this directory tracks 116 live platforms sold into it, most of them by companies you have never heard of, selling into one country each.

Almost everything written about that market is written by the people selling into it. This is an attempt at the other thing: a description of what the whole population of vendors actually publishes, counted rather than characterised.

The single clearest finding is that a large share of this market does not tell you the things procurement has to know. Not that the answers are bad — that they are absent. Where a vendor publishes nothing, that is recorded below as its own category rather than quietly dropped, because for a buyer it is the most consequential answer of the three.

Headline figures

53 / 126
publish no entry price
46 / 126
do not say where data is hosted
89 / 126
publish no security certification
3 / 126
cover all 24 official EU languages

Most of this market will not tell you what it costs

53 of 126 platforms publish no entry price at all. The 73 that do cluster hard at the bottom: the modal European whistleblowing platform costs under €50 a month, which is roughly what the obligation is worth to a 60-person company. That gap is not really about price. A published figure means a product standardised enough to quote without a discovery call; an absent one means the number is set per deal, and a buyer cannot plan a budget against it.

Entry price, where published

Cheapest tier a vendor publishes on its own pricing page, monthly equivalent.

Under €50 / month
49 · 39%
€50–100 / month
17 · 13%
€100–200 / month
6 · 5%
Over €200 / month
1 · 1%
Not published
53 · 42%

See the platforms behind this →

A third of the market does not say where the data lives

76 of 126 platforms name an EU data centre. 46 say nothing at all about hosting location on any public page, and 14 are run by companies headquartered outside the EU. For a system holding untested allegations about named employees, hosting location is a question that appears on essentially every procurement questionnaire in Europe — and a third of the market has decided not to answer it on its website.

Where report data is hosted

EU data centre
76 · 60%
EU region selectable
4 · 3%
Not disclosed
46 · 37%

See the platforms behind this →

Security certification is the exception, not the norm

89 of 126 platforms publish no security certification of any kind. 34 publish ISO 27001, alone or with others. The absence is not evidence of weak security — certification is expensive and many of these vendors are very small — but it does mean that for most of this market a buyer has no external attestation to rely on and has to do the assurance work itself.

Published security certification

ISO 27001 plus others
14 · 11%
ISO 27001
20 · 16%
National scheme (ENS, ACN)
3 · 2%
None published
89 · 71%

See the platforms behind this →

Almost nobody covers the languages the Union actually speaks

Exactly 3 of 126 platforms cover all 24 official EU languages. 74 publish a partial list, and 49 do not say. The Directive requires a channel that workers can actually use, and a multinational with staff across several member states is the buyer most likely to need that and least likely to find it. This is the widest gap in the dataset and the one vendors discuss least.

Reporting-form language coverage

All 24 official languages
3 · 2%
Partial, count published
74 · 59%
Not published
49 · 39%

The market is split down the middle on whether you may buy without talking to it

55 of 126 platforms let you open an account yourself. 71 put a demo or a sales call between you and the product. For a compliance obligation with a statutory deadline, that is a real difference in how fast the obligation can be closed, and it tends to track company size on both sides of the transaction.

How the product is bought

Self-serve sign-up
55 · 44%
Sales contact required
71 · 56%

See the platforms behind this →

On AI, the market has mostly decided to be explicit

88 of 126 platforms state that report content is not processed by AI. 29 confirm that it is, typically for translation or triage. Only 9 leave it unanswered — which makes this the most consistently disclosed field in the whole dataset, and a striking contrast with hosting location.

AI processing of report content

No AI processing
88 · 70%
Uses AI
29 · 23%
Not disclosed
9 · 7%

See the platforms behind this →

This is a market of national vendors, not European ones

83 of 126 platforms sell into a single country. 25 are not standalone products at all but modules of a broader compliance, ESG, or legal-tech suite. The Directive is Union-wide; its software market is not. A buyer operating in more than two member states will find the shortlist collapses very quickly.

Geographic reach

One country
83 · 66%
Regional
8 · 6%
Multiple EU states
23 · 18%
Global
12 · 10%

The law built this market

43 of the 85 platforms whose domain registration date is public first registered it in 2021 or later — at or after the deadline for transposing the Directive into national law. Half this market's domains postdate the obligation that created the demand. A third of it predates the Directive entirely, and that older cohort looks different in kind: 41% of it is whistleblowing added to an existing compliance or GRC suite, against 9% of everything registered since. The market the Directive created is overwhelmingly standalone products built for the obligation.

When the platform's domain was first registered

85 of 126 platforms. Registries for .de and .eu publish no registration date, so those are absent rather than estimated. A domain is not a company: an older one can be bought, and a product can move to a new one.

Before 2019
29 · 34%
2019–2021
26 · 31%
2022–2023
21 · 25%
2024 or later
9 · 11%

Most of this market does not stop mail sent in its name

78 of 126 platforms publish no enforcing DMARC policy on the domain they mail from, and 28 publish no policy at all. DMARC is the record that tells a receiving mail server what to do with a message claiming to come from a domain but failing authentication. It matters here because the Directive requires an acknowledgement within seven days, so reporters do receive mail from these domains — and a convincing forgery of that mail is a route to phish or mislead someone who has just filed a report.

Read it narrowly. This measures a published policy, not the security of the vendor's own mail, and says nothing about whether reports themselves can be intercepted. Large mail providers filter on their own signals regardless, so an absent policy does not mean a forgery arrives. The exposure concentrates on named reporters and on case handlers, whose addresses an adversary is more likely to know than an anonymous reporter's.

DMARC policy on the platform's sending domain

Read from each domain's DNS, not from vendor materials. Every platform has a value, so this is the whole live catalogue.

Enforced (reject)
23 · 18%
Enforced (quarantine)
25 · 20%
Published but not enforcing
50 · 40%
None published
28 · 22%

Method, and what these numbers cannot tell you

  • Population: 126 platforms marketed for EU Directive 2019/1937 compliance and reachable at the time of writing. Platforms recorded as defunct or absorbed into another company are excluded from every figure.
  • Every field is taken from the vendor's own published pages — pricing, product, security, legal — and cited and dated on that platform's profile. Nothing is inferred from a competitor, a reseller, or a review site.
  • "Not published" means exactly that. It is not a judgement about the product, and several platforms that publish nothing are demonstrably capable. It is a statement about what a buyer can establish without entering a sales process.
  • This measures disclosure, not quality. No figure here should be read as saying a platform does or does not do something — only that it does or does not say so in public.

Every figure is computed at build time from the directory dataset, so the numbers on this page and the numbers on the platform profiles cannot disagree.

Cite this

Published under CC BY 4.0. Reuse the figures with attribution; the underlying dataset is public and machine-readable, so they can be checked or recomputed.

EU Whistleblower Directory (2026). The state of EU whistleblowing software, 2026. https://whistleblowertools.eu/report/2026/
Browse the platforms behind these numbers Correct an entry