Skip to main content
EU Whistleblower Directory

Edition I, 2026 · Tested September 2026

Whistleblowing software in Portugal — scored ranking

Independent scored ranking of whistleblower-reporting tools for Portugal under Lei 93/2021, the local transposition of EU Directive 2019/1937. 25-criterion rubric fixed before scoring; every score carries evidence.

Of the 8 platforms scored against Lei 93/2021, EthicsPortal ranks first with 52 of 56 points, ahead of WhistleOn at 29.

Platforms covering it
9
Sold only here
5
EU data centre
3
Self-serve sign-up
2
Scored against the rubric
8

The law a channel in Portugal has to satisfy

Portugal transposes EU Directive 2019/1937 through Lei 93/2021. A platform has to satisfy the national text, not only the Directive, so check obligations against the statute rather than against a vendor's compliance claim.

Portugal has the weakest infrastructure transparency of any market in this directory. Five of the eight scored platforms disclose nothing at all about where report data is hosted, and not one names Portugal-resident hosting. The single vendor that names a location puts European data in Belgium.

On every other axis the field looks healthy. Seven of eight name Lei 93/2021, all eight ship a Portuguese reporter surface, and six are Portuguese vendors. The legal framing is there; the answer to “where does the data sit” mostly is not.

That gap matters more in Portugal than the rankings alone suggest. Lei 93/2021 obliges employers with 50 or more workers to operate an internal channel, and a buyer who cannot establish the hosting jurisdiction cannot complete a GDPR transfer assessment for it.

This edition uses two layers:

  • the 50-point base rubric, which stays country-agnostic and scores the product itself: legal workflow depth, reporter experience, handler workflow, security posture, and commercial clarity;
  • the 6-point Portugal modifier, which rewards an explicit Lei 93/2021 reference, a named hosting country or EU provider, and a genuine Portuguese-language surface.

One note on language tagging: several Portuguese vendors serve their site as Brazilian Portuguese rather than European Portuguese. That is recorded in the evidence but does not change the score, since the reporter can read it either way.

TOP 8 — summary

#ToolTierBase
/ 50
Portugal bonus
/ 6
TotalLast reviewed
1EthicsPortal logo EthicsPortalP+R+H475522026-06-21
2WhistleOn logo WhistleOnP245292026-05-24
3Double Voice logo Double VoiceP244282026-07-19
4+Transparente logo +TransparenteP234272026-07-19
5iBlow logo iBlowP234272026-05-24
6Portal das Denúncias logo Portal das DenúnciasP234272026-07-19
7GOWhistleblow logo GOWhistleblowP204242026-07-19
8Fraud Line logo Fraud LineP163192026-05-24

Criterion-by-criterion matrix

● fully meets ◐ partially meets ○ does not meet / not verifiable

CriterionEthicsPortal logo EthicsPortalWhistleOn logo WhistleOnDouble Voice logo Double Voice+Transparente logo +TransparenteiBlow logo iBlowPortal das Denúncias logo Portal das DenúnciasGOWhistleblow logo GOWhistleblowFraud Line logo Fraud Line
Legal compliance · 16 pts max
A1 Local transposition law referenced with article numbers●●◐◐●◐◐◐
A2 Directive 2019/1937 Article 2(1) categories in intake●◐◐◐●◐◐○
A3 Anonymous reporting default-on or equal-status●●●●●●●●
A4 7-day acknowledgment + 3-month feedback deadline tracking●○◐○◐◐○○
A5 Configurable retention with automatic deletion●○○◐○○○○
A6 Report register / log●●◐◐◐◐◐◐
A7 Append-only handler audit trail●◐○○◐○○○
A8 DPA + DPIA support documented●○◐◐○◐◐◐
Reporter experience · 10 pts max
B9 Web form, mobile-responsive, with file upload●●●◐◐◐◐◐
B10 Two-factor reporter access (Case ID + passcode)●○◐◐○○◐○
B11 Two-way anonymous communication●●●◐●◐◐●
B12 Structured intake aligned to Article 2(1)●◐◐◐●◐◐○
B13 Reporter form in local language○◐●●◐●●○
Handler experience · 10 pts max
C14 Case management dashboard with status workflow●●●●●●●◐
C15 Assign cases to handlers (rotation or multi-handler)●◐◐◐●◐◐◐
C16 Deadline reminder notifications●○●◐◐◐○○
C17 Internal notes (not visible to reporter)●◐○○◐○◐○
C18 Role-based access control (≥3 roles)●◐○○◐○◐○
Security and trust · 8 pts max
D19 ISO 27001 certified○○○○○○○●
D20 No EOL software components●◐◐◐◐◐◐●
D21 EU data residency with country disclosed●●○○○○○◐
D22 Sub-processor list + right to object●○◐◐○◐○○
Commercial · 6 pts max
E23 Published pricing●●●●○●●○
E24 Free trial available (self-serve)◐○○○○◐○○
E25 Monthly contract option●○○●○●○○
Portugal bonus · 6 pts max · modifier, not in base
PT·LAW Lei 93/2021 referenced●●●●●●●○
PT·RESIDENCY Portugal or named EU residency◐◐○○○○○◐
PT·UI Portuguese-language UI●●●●●●●●
Total5229282727272419

Per-tool reviews

#1
EthicsPortal logo

EthicsPortal

Poland · Whistleblowing channel hosted on Hetzner in Germany. Flat €60/month plan, with a published DORA evidence set.

52 / 56
Base 47 · Bonus 5 · Tier P+R+H
Legal
16/16
Reporter
0/10
Handler
10/10
Security
6/8
Commercial
5/6

Strengths

  • Article-level legal framing: /compliance/ enumerates Directive 2019/1937 Articles 4, 6, 8, 9, 16, 18, 19–21 and links to a dedicated page for each of the 27 EU transpositions
  • All 27 EU national whistleblower laws are named on public /whistleblower-laws/<country>/ pages with official source citations
  • Oral reporting (Art 9(2)(b)) is built into the portal as in-browser voice recording and is privacy-engineered: the raw audio is automatically pitch-shifted, only the anonymized clip is ever served, and the original recording is purged after processing (fail-closed — nothing is exposed to handlers until anonymization succeeds)
  • Report categories are tagged to specific Directive Art 2(1) Union-law domains, with the article reference shown as a handler-side badge while reporters pick plain-language categories
  • Structured intake: five optional, Directive-aligned questions (relationship to org per Art 4, source of knowledge, incident timing, prior reporting, retaliation concern per Art 19) presented as a skippable guided step, surfaced to handlers and the PDF export with retaliation flagged as an urgency badge — a built-in default set where most tools leave these to per-org custom-field configuration
  • Three role tiers (member / admin / viewer): viewer is a read-only seat for auditors and external counsel that sees every report plus the full audit trail without any write or management path
  • GDPR Art 20 portability: admins can export the full organization dataset (reports, messages, attachments, with encrypted fields decrypted for portability) as a ZIP; export and download are audit-logged and the ZIP auto-purges after 7 days
  • Real deadline tracking: 7-day acknowledgement and 3-month feedback deadlines with overdue/due-soon tracking and a lifecycle stepper in both reporter and handler views
  • Configurable retention (12/24/36/48/60 months) with automatic purge of expired closed reports; open reports left inactive for 18 months auto-close so the retention clock starts (GDPR Art 5(1)(e) storage limitation), closing the open-forever gap
  • Two-factor reporter access: case reference (WB-XXXX-XXXX) plus a reporter-chosen 6-digit passcode, session-gated inbox. Reporters can also download a PDF copy of their own report from the follow-up portal (audit-logged)
  • Audit log surfaced to handlers on each report; append-only at the database level
  • Modern stack with no end-of-life liabilities
  • Transparent monthly pricing (€60/mo) with 14 live product locales (13 EU official languages — bg, de, el, en, es, fr, hr, it, nl, pl, pt, ro, sl — plus Luxembourgish)
  • Multi-handler case assignment: each report can be assigned to a handler, admins see all reports and members see only assigned, assignment changes are audit-logged, and deactivated members are auto-unassigned from open reports
  • Handler-set case priority (low / normal / high / urgent) recorded at assessment as an audit-logged change and surfaced as a badge on the report list, plus a priority breakdown in the exportable compliance report
  • SCIM 2.0 provisioning so an identity provider (Okta, Microsoft Entra ID) can provision case handlers and — the core value — auto-deprovision them the moment someone leaves the directory; admins generate, rotate, and enable/disable a per-organization token and pick the default role
  • SAML 2.0 single sign-on so staff authenticate through the organization's identity provider (Okta, Microsoft Entra ID); configured per organization, covers one or more email domains, with optional enforcement (require SSO for those domains) and optional just-in-time account provisioning on first sign-in — the authentication half of the SSO + SCIM enterprise-identity pair
  • Published ISO 37002:2021 guidance-alignment map (/iso-37002/) walking the standard's operating clauses against shipped features, alongside the ISO 27001 Annex A self-assessment
  • Published DPA grants the Controller an explicit right to object to subprocessor changes (§6.4, 30-day notice + termination remedy) and commits to 72-hour breach notification (§6.6); /trust/ publishes contracting party, backups, RTO/RPO, and session lifecycle
  • DORA evidence set published for financial-entity buyers: /dora/ lists Article 30(2) and 30(3) provisions with status and location, supplies the register-of-information fields under Implementing Regulation (EU) 2024/2956 including the S19 (Cloud services: SaaS) classification, names the ICT service supply chain, and links a signable contractual addendum at /dora-addendum/
  • Zero-AI commitment codified contractually: DPA §6.10 prohibits transmission of personal data to any LLM or AI inference provider; /subprocessors/ lists no AI sub-processor

Weaknesses

  • Audit log is append-only but not hash-chained
  • Only 14 portal-facing languages (13 EU official languages + Luxembourgish) against 24 EU official languages
  • No ISO 27001 certification of EthicsPortal itself (only Hetzner infrastructure is certified)
  • Pay-first with 30-day money-back rather than an upfront self-serve free trial
  • Role tiers are org-scoped, not per-case ACLs: the viewer role adds the auditor seat, but a handler's report visibility is still governed by assignment/participant scoping rather than a per-case permission model

Standout

Article-level Directive framing paired with a 27-page country-law reference and privacy-engineered oral reporting, all surfaced in the live product alongside working deadline, retention, two-factor passcode, audit-log, voice-anonymization, and subprocessor-notification flows.

#2
WhistleOn logo

WhistleOn

Lisbon, Portugal · Portuguese whistleblowing platform with voice and WhatsApp AI intake. Tiered €69–€199+/month by employee count, annual billing.

29 / 56
Base 24 · Bonus 5 · Tier P
Legal
8/16
Reporter
6/10
Handler
5/10
Security
3/8
Commercial
2/6

Strengths

  • Published tiered pricing, Portugal Law 93/2021 and 109-E/2021 positioning, and public EU data-residency region.
  • Voice and WhatsApp AI-assisted intake, web portal, E2E encryption, task tracking, dashboards, BI integration, and training library are public.
  • Parent Ouvidor Digital claims 5,000+ customers and 30+ countries.

Weaknesses

  • No formal certification, public DPA/subprocessor list, API documentation, retention automation, deadline automation, or free trial was found.
  • AI-assisted intake means report content is processed by AI, which some buyers will reject.

Standout

Portugal-focused product with unusually clear pricing and channel breadth, including voice/WhatsApp AI intake and Belgium-region hosting.

#3
Double Voice logo

Double Voice

Caldas da Rainha, Portugal · Portuguese whistleblowing channel from Momentapproach Unipessoal, Lda. (Double Shore), built around Portugal's Lei 93/2021 with published annual pricing from EUR 500/year.

28 / 56
Base 24 · Bonus 4 · Tier P
Legal
7/16
Reporter
8/10
Handler
5/10
Security
2/8
Commercial
2/6
#4
+Transparente logo

+Transparente

Portugal · Portuguese whistleblowing platform from Closer Consultoria (also branded Evalyze Guard) for Lei 93/2021 compliance, with monthly plans from EUR 49.

27 / 56
Base 23 · Bonus 4 · Tier P
Legal
7/16
Reporter
6/10
Handler
4/10
Security
2/8
Commercial
4/6
#5
iBlow logo

iBlow

Lisbon, Portugal · Portuguese whistleblowing platform built around Law 93/2021. Four tiers scaled by collaborator count; all quote-based.

27 / 56
Base 23 · Bonus 4 · Tier P
Legal
9/16
Reporter
6/10
Handler
7/10
Security
1/8
Commercial
0/6

Strengths

  • Explicit Portuguese Law 93/2021 positioning and FAQ mapping to Article 2(1) reportable subjects.
  • Package matrix publishes anonymised dialogs, 2FA, team assignments, secure discussions, SSO, and workflow controls.
  • Multi-company / multi-entity support is public.

Weaknesses

  • All tiers are quote-based; no public pricing, trial, hosting country, DPA, subprocessor list, or certificate document was found.
  • Several security standards are referenced as controls, but no certification scope or certifying body was found.

Standout

Strong Portugal-law posture and workflow disclosure, held back by quote-only commercial and weak public security documentation.

#6
Portal das Denúncias logo

Portal das Denúncias

Vila Nova da Barquinha, Portugal · Portuguese whistleblowing channel from NoOperation, Lda. with published monthly tiers from EUR 47/month for Lei 93/2021 and EU Directive 2019/1937 compliance.

27 / 56
Base 23 · Bonus 4 · Tier P
Legal
7/16
Reporter
5/10
Handler
4/10
Security
2/8
Commercial
5/6
#7
GOWhistleblow logo

GOWhistleblow

São João da Madeira, Portugal · Portuguese whistleblowing channel from GoFox with AES-256 encryption and published tiers from EUR 21/month on annual billing for Lei 93/2021 compliance.

24 / 56
Base 20 · Bonus 4 · Tier P
Legal
6/16
Reporter
6/10
Handler
5/10
Security
1/8
Commercial
2/6
#8
Fraud Line logo

Fraud Line

Greece (Athens) · Greek whistleblowing-services provider with ISO 27001, ISO 27701, and ISO 37002 certifications, deployed across multiple countries.

19 / 56
Base 16 · Bonus 3 · Tier P
Legal
5/16
Reporter
0/10
Handler
2/10
Security
5/8
Commercial
0/6

Strengths

  • Dedicated /bg/ commercial surface is live
  • Anonymous reporting plus an open communication channel are documented publicly
  • ISO 27001, ISO 27701, and ISO 37002 are claimed publicly
  • Microsoft Azure hosting in Western Europe is disclosed publicly

Weaknesses

  • Commercial surface is opaque: no pricing, no self-serve trial, and no monthly contract signal
  • Bulgaria-specific legal framing is limited; the page references whistleblower laws generically rather than the Bulgarian act itself
  • Handler workflow disclosure is limited at public-page tier: no explicit status workflow, reminders, or role model are documented

Standout

Fraud Line is presented as a managed software-plus-services operator, so public product evidence is more limited than for self-serve SaaS entries.

Methodology

Scoring rubric

25 criteria across 5 categories, weighted by criterion count. Each criterion scores 0, 1, or 2 — rendered as ○ / ◐ / ●. Maximum base score is 50. Portugal-specific bonuses add up to 6 on top (modifier, not part of base).

Access tiers

Each tool carries an access tier reflecting what was testable:

  • P — public pages only (marketing, pricing, security, reporter URL).
  • P + R — above plus a test report submission.
  • P + R + H — above plus handler / admin dashboard (via free trial or demo).

Criteria that cannot be verified at the current tier score 0 with the evidence line "Requires handler tier" or "Not documented publicly". Scores depressed by tier, not by product quality, are explicitly flagged on each tool's profile.

Data residency

Every country modifier scores residency the same way:

  • 2 — Data residency in the ranked country itself.
  • 1 — EU or EEA residency is disclosed, but not in the ranked country.
  • 0 — No EU or EEA residency is disclosed.

Integrity guarantees

  1. The rubric was fixed before scoring. No criterion was added mid-test to favour or punish a specific tool.
  2. Every score carries evidence — a URL, a quote, or a file path — visible in each tool's profile.
  3. Tools operated by the publisher are scored by the same rubric. Placement is by score, not by construction.
  4. Each tool carries a Last reviewed date and is re-tested at least annually.
  5. Vendors can dispute a score or submit evidence of a shipped fix using the contact address in the site footer. Any resulting change is dated on the respective tool profile.

Law applied

Lei n.º 93/2021, de 20 de dezembro (the Portugal transposition of EU Directive 2019/1937). Tools are scored against the Directive first and against the local law's specifics second.

Coverage note

This ranking covers 8 tools with a scoring block published. Additional tools are being added as scoring completes. Unscored tools will appear in the ranking once they have a published scoring block.

Platforms covering Portugal

6 of 9 publish an entry price. The rest require contact with sales before a figure is given.

Whistleblowing software in Portugal — scored ranking
PlatformHeadquartersPricingHow you buyData hostingSecurity certification
EthicsPortal logo EthicsPortalPoland€60/month, or €41.67/month billed annually (€500/year)Self-serve sign-upEUISO 27001
+Transparente logo +TransparentePortugalProfessional EUR 49/month (up to 250 employees, 5 managers); Corporate EUR 99/month (up to 1,000 employees, unlimited managers); Enterprise EUR 199/month (1,000+ employees, unlimited managers). Prices shown as starting-from (desde) figures.Sales contact requiredNot disclosed—
Ashio logo AshioTallinn, Estonia€30/month billed monthly, or €23/month billed yearly (€276/year). One plan, all features, unlimited team members, no per-report fee.Self-serve sign-upNot disclosed—
Double Voice logo Double VoiceCaldas da Rainha, PortugalStarter EUR 500/year (up to 100 employees); Growth EUR 650/year (up to 250); Business EUR 900/year (up to 500); Enterprise EUR 1,200/year (up to 1,000); Corporate EUR 1,900/year (1,000+). Prices exclude 23% VAT.Sales contact requiredNot disclosed—
Fraud Line logo Fraud LineGreece (Athens)Not published — quote-based.Sales contact requiredEUISO 27001 plus others
GOWhistleblow logo GOWhistleblowSão João da Madeira, PortugalNormal (shared SaaS) EUR 30/month, promo EUR 21/month for new subscriptions through 31/12/2026 (1 user/entity, unlimited employees, 1GB storage); Premium (dedicated SaaS) EUR 80/month, promo EUR 56/month (custom form and workflow, unlimited users, multi-entity, multi-language, 10GB storage); À Medida (custom SaaS) EUR 320/month, promo EUR 224/month (custom dashboard and reports, own domain, mobile app, 20GB storage). All prices exclude VAT.Sales contact requiredNot disclosed—
iBlow logo iBlowLisbon, PortugalNot published — all four tiers (Base, Value, Elite, Premium) quote-based. Tiers scale by collaborator count: 0–249, 250–499, 500–999, 1,000+.Sales contact requiredNot disclosed—
Portal das Denúncias logo Portal das DenúnciasVila Nova da Barquinha, PortugalStarter EUR 47/month (up to 100 employees, 2 managers); Business EUR 67/month (up to 250 employees, 5 managers); Elite EUR 97/month (more than 250 employees, unlimited managers). All prices exclude VAT.Sales contact requiredNot disclosed—
WhistleOn logo WhistleOnLisbon, PortugalTiered by employee count: €69 (1–49), €79 (50–149), €89 (150–199), €129 (200–499), €199 (500–999), quote for 1,000+. Billed annually.Sales contact requiredEU—

Open these Portugal platforms in the filterable directory →

All tools Methodology

Other member states